A new efficient constant-time hashing to some Barreto-Naehrig curves (including BN256 and BN512)

Hi guys,

My name is Dimitri Koshelev. I am a researcher from Moscow and Paris. My field of science is elliptic curves and pairing-based cryptography.

I invented a quite efficient constant-time hashing (that is without inversions and quadratic residuosity tests) to some elliptic \mathbb{F}_{\!p}-curves E\!: y^2 = x^3 + b of j-invariant 0.

More precisely, the new hashing is applicable if Frobenius trace t := p+1 - |E(\mathbb{F}_{\!p})| is divided by 5 (i.e. there is a vertical \mathbb{F}_{\!p^2}-isogeny of degree 5 to E) or Frobenius discriminant D := t^2 - 4p is divided by 9 (i.e. there is a vertical \mathbb{F}_{\!p}-isogeny of degree 3 to E).

My approach is similar to that for curves of j=1728 and the trick of Wahby-Boneh respectively. Moreover, the new hashing to BN512 is absolutely original from scientifique point of view.

The condition 5 | t is fulfilled, for example, for the Barreto-Naehrig curve BN512 (from the standard ISO15946-5). This curve may potentially be used in the near future. At the same time, 9 | D for the curve BN256 from Article (early it was very popular in the industry).

Before me, there was only one known constant-time hashing to BN256 and BN512, namely SWU (Shallue-van de Woestijne-Ulas) hashing (see, e.g., El Mrabet, Joye, Guide to pairing-based cryptography, par. 8.4.2). However, it requires to perform 2 quadratic residuosity tests (QRT). If I’m not mistaken, the unique known simple constant-time implementation of QRT is 1 exponentiation in \mathbb{F}_{\!p}. But this is a very time-consuming operation.

In contrast, my hashing to BN512 in total contains only about 100 multiplications in \mathbb{F}_{\!p} (and the new hashing to BN256 is even more efficient).