[Aghion & Tirole 1997] Formal and real authority in organizations

Note: I am not sure just how close to an equivalent binary this is to the stake-work distinction, and being motivated to post this here by seeing the length of the Reddit “Proof of Authority” thread is probably club good [G]Marxism as far as membership in groups goes.

Given intersecting sets of mods, asymmetric computing power, and distributed incentives to prioritize information processing tasks of uneven difficulty, posting this here - before trying to take the idea of PoA seriously, or even get a sense of the common knowledge as to the estimated value of the idea (space?) - seemed like appropriately filtered effort from the substance of that thread.

I am not sure how constructive it is to relate back to the issues of “formal realizability” (“verification” is maybe a bit too much, but I’m no expert in error codes) as manifested in the Breitman “thesis,” or to hand-wave about type systems and “calendar time” τ [Milgrom & Roberts 1990, 1995] from the perspective of a transactional VM.

For the moment, readers may find this useful enough for what it is.

–-