Economic games against imaginary altruistic robots: a practical suggestion for digital goods crowdfunding

Recently, there were few interesting posts on financing of public goods, exploring different ideas on improving/changing Quadratic Finance (QF) mechanism, originally suggested by Vitalik Buterin, Zoe Hitzig and Glenn Weyl.

These posts ([1], [2]) provoked me to think on these issues myself. I outline my suggestions in this post; all constructions are practical, and if anyone wants to join me in implementing them, or has any ideas / improvements - please be welcome to leave a comment or contact me directly.

I’m tagging authors of these topics, and hope it is not inappropriate. @Filip @llllvvuu

I want to warn the reader that I’m not an expert in the field - I’ve done some research, but be sure to take my propositions critically. Here is the plan of the post:

1. Motivation outline (“political manifest”)
  2. What’s wrong with QF? Can we increase its scope?
  3. My proposal, synthesyzing mutual assurance contracts [1] and revelation approach [2].
  4. Closing remarks.

1. Motivation (mostly opinionated politically charged garbage, press [X] to skip)

Funding of public goods (here and after I mean by this goods that benefit large, unrestricted groups of people) is a fundamental challenge for the market economy. Uncooperated rational agents typically don’t have marginal benefit justifying the funding of a public good (because while public good benefits a large group of people, it typically benefits each person less than a cost of production).

Typical solutions to these issues are:

1. Taxation. I am not in principle opposed to it, but smaller projects are typically not recognized by a state, so this works only for really large projects. There are expectations that CQF could, potentially, solve this problem. One wouldn’t know until blockchain enthusiasts are allowed to run a country; which is not on the roadmap of the most projects yet.