Circulating Supply Equilibrium for Ethereum and Minimum Viable Issuance under Proof of Stake

Hello. I’m a researcher from another field and find blockchain tech very intriguing. I have been following Ethereum for a while and appreciate the ethos of openness. The effects of a deflationary Ethereum, and the potential equilibrium for the circulating supply, seem to me like relevant topics to explore. Feel free to correct things I may have gotten wrong. In order to approach more elaborate models, I would need to understand more deeply how Ethereum approaches minimum viable issuance in proof of stake, including potential mechanisms for enforcing a minimum viable issuance policy in the future. I would appreciate links to writings about these topics.

Abstract

This text explores various equilibria for the circulating supply of Ethereum under different assumptions, and discusses the effects of enforcing a minimum viable issuance policy and the benefits and drawbacks of allowing Ethereum to be perpetually deflationary. While deflationary pressure will only have a substantial effect on the circulating supply over longer time horizons, my hope is that highlighting low potential equilibria and discussing different philosophies concerning monetary policy could be useful also in the short term.

Introduction

With the introduction of EIP-1559, a deflationary mechanism has been added to Ethereum, burning base fees. This mechanism counteracts the inflation from ETH issued for securing the network. From a “monetary policy” perspective, it could be good to estimate the equilibrium for the circulating supply under current circumstances, and to make some projections for different equilibria under various assumptions (see for example this thread, and other discussions that are connected to, or implicitly depend on, estimates of the future circulating supply).